Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry

Division Representatives

Alex Brown (alex.brown@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Symposia and Organizers

1D and 2D Materials: From Computational Studies to Applications - joint with MS, MT

Organizer:
Benoit Simard (benoit.simard@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca), National Research Council Canada

Invited Speakers:
Alex Adronov, McMaster U 
Keun Su Kim,
National Research Council Canada
Richard Martel, Université de Montreal
Gilbert Walker, University of Toronto

Addressing the Challenges in Soft and Hard Matter Simulations

Organizers:
Stella Consta (sconstas@uwo.ca), Western University 
Richard Bowles (richard.bowles@usask.ca), University of Saskatchewan 
Gren Patey (patey@chem.ubc.ca), University of British Columbia

Invited Speakers
Christos Likos, University of Vienna, Austria
Alenka LuzarVirginia Commonwealth University, USA
Raymond Kapral, University of Toronto
Peter Kusalik, University of Calgary
Claudio Margulis, University of Iowa, USA
Christopher Rowley, Memorial University
Prof. Ilja Siepmann, University of Minnesota, USA
Peter Tielemen, University of Calgary
Greg van Anders, University of Michigan, USA

Assessing Complex Free Energy Surfaces from Molecular Simulations from Electronic Structure to Mesoscopic Processes

Organizers:
Sergei Noskov 
(snoskov@ucalgary.ca), University of Calgary 
Justin MacCallum (ustin.maccallum@ucalgary.ca), University of Calgary 
Roman Krems (rkrems@chem.ubc.ca), University of British Columbia

Invited Speakers:
Alan Aspuru-Guzik, 
Harvard University, USA
Carsten Baldauf, Fritz Haber Institute, Germany
Greg Bowman, Washington University, St. Louis, USA
Sarah BurkeUniversity of British Columbia
Ed Harder, Schrodinger Inc., USA
Teresa Head-Gordon, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Artur Izmaylov, University of Toronto 
Erin R. JohnsonDalhousie University - Tom Ziegler Award Winner
Guillaume Lamoureux, Concordia University 
Irina Paci, University of Victoria 
Garegin Papoian, University of Maryland, College Park, USA 
Alberto Perez, SUNY Stony Brook, USA
Jean-Philip Piquemal, Sorbonne University, France 
Regis Pomes, University of Toronto and Sick Kids Hospital 
Sarah Rauscher, University of Toronto,
Dvira SegalUniversity of Toronto
Jana Shen, University of Maryland, School of Pharmacy, USA 
Chen Song, Peking University, China 
Peter Tieleman, University of Calgary 
Oleksandr Vozny, University of Toronto

Computational Modelling of Biomolecular Systems: From Structure to Function

Organizers:
Stacey Wetmore (stacey.wetmore@uleth.ca), University of Lethbridge 
James Gauld (gauld@uwindsor.ca), University of Windsor 
Leif Eriksson (leif.eriksson@chem.gu.se), University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Invited Speakers
Elisa Fadda, Maynooth University, Ireland
Pedro Fernandes, University of Porto, Portugal
Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, Yale University, USA
Teresa Head-Gordon, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Petr Jurecka, Palacky University, Olomouc, Czech Republic
Rongzhen Liao, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
Justin MacCallum, University of Calgary
Nicolas Moitessier, McGill University
Gilles Peslherbe, Concordia University
Rajeev Prabhakar, University of Miami, USA
Christopher Rowley, Memorial University
Dennis Salahub, University of Calgary
Qadir Timerghazin, Marquette University, USA
Jack Tuszynski, University of Alberta

Spectroscopy of Paramagnetic Systems - joint with IN

Organizers:
Ramaswami Sammynaiken (r.sammynaiken@usask.ca), University of Saskatchewan 
Pierre Kennepohl (pierre@chem.ubc.ca), University of British Columbia 
Charles Walsby (cwalsby@sfu.ca), Simon Fraser University

Exploring Quantum Molecular Dynamics: Theoretical and Experimental Approaches

Organizers:
Alex Brown (alex.brown@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta 
Pierre-Nicholas Roy (pnroy@uwaterloo.ca), University of Waterloo

Invited Speakers
Sophya Garashcuk, University of South Carolina, USA
Aaron Kelly, Dalhousie University
Takamasa Momose, University of British Columbia
Paul Raston, James Madison University, USA
Michael Schuurman, National Research Council/Ottawa
Albert Stolow, University of Ottawa/NRC - John C. Polanyi Award Winner
Jennifer van Wijngarden, University of Manitoba
Yunjie Xu, University of Alberta
Toby Zeng, Carleton University

General Session

Organizer:
Travis Fridgen (tfridgen@mun.ca), Memorial University

Materials for Renewable Energy Technologies - joint with MT, SS

Organizers:
Gregory Jerkiewicz (gregory.jerkiewicz@chem.queensu.ca), Queens University 
Daniel Guay (guay@emt.inrs.ca), Institut national de la recherche scientifique 
Byron Gates (bgates@sfu.ca), Simon Fraser University

Invited Speakers:
Jillian Buriak, 
University of Alberta
Linda Nazar, University of Waterloo
Andy (Xueliang) Sun, Western University 
David P. Wilkinson, 
University of British Columbia

Multiscale modelling of Bio-/Nano- systems

Organizers:
Sergey Gusarov (sergey.gusarov@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca), National Institute for Nanotechnology 
Andriy Kovalenko (andriy.kovalenko@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca), National Institute for Nanotechnology 
Stanislav Stoyanov (stanislav.stoyanov@canada.ca), Natural Resources Canada
Dennis Salahub (dennis.salahub@ucalgary.ca), University of Calgary
Sergei Noskov (snoskov@ucalgary.ca), University of Calgary

Invited Speakers:
Jochen Autschbach, State University of New York, USA
Massimiliano Bonomi, University of Cambridge, UK
Christopher Fennell, Oklahoma State University, USA
Fumio Hirata, Toyota Physical & Chemical Research Institute, Japan
Maximilien Lesvesque, PSL Research University, France
Xingchen Liu, Chinese Academy of Science, China
Nick Mosey, Queen's University
Monte Pettitt, University of Texas, USA
Chris Rowley, Memorial University
Vincent Voelz,
Temple University, USA

Spectroscopic Techniques for Atmospheric Chemistry - joint with EN

Organizers:
Wolfgang Jäger (wolfgang.jaeger@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta 
Sarah Styler (sstyler@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta 
Kaley Walker (kwalker@atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca), University of Toronto

Invited Speakers:
​Adam Bourassa
University of Saskatchewan
Gregory DavidETH Zurich, Switzerland
Brian DrouinJet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
Hans OsthoffUniversity of Calgary
Elijah Schnitzler, University of Toronto
Nathan Seifert, University of Alberta
Kimberly StrongUniversity of Toronto
Aldona WiacekSaint Mary's University
Ran ZhaoCaltech, USA

Spectroscopy: a Tool Box for Chemical Problems

Organizers:
Yunjie Xu (yunjie.xu@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta
Jennifer van Wijngaarden (jennifer.vanwijngaarden@umanitoba.ca), University of Manitoba
Takamasa Momose (momose@chem.ubc.ca), University of British Columbia

Invited Speakers:
Allan Adam, University of New Brunswick
Alex Brown, University of Alberta
Katrin Dulitz, University of Freiburg
Travis Fridgen, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Ed Grant, University of British Columbia
Scott Hopkins, University of Waterloo
Dennis Hore, University of Victoria - Keith Laidler Award Winner
Wolfgang Jaeger, University of Alberta
Hans‐Peter Loock, Queen's University
Peter McBreen, University of Laval
Anne B. McCoy, University of Washington, USA
Terry McMahon, University of Waterloo
Christian Merten, Ruhr‐University Bochum, Germany
Valery Milner, University of British Columbia
Gilles H. Peslherbe, Concordia University
PN Roy, University of Waterloo
Yujun Shi, University of Calgary
Bradley Siwick, McGill University
Gert von Helden, Fritz‐Haber‐Institut der Max‐Planck‐Gesellschaft, Germany
Kaley Walker, University of Toronto
Lihong Xu, University of New Brunswick

Solid-state NMR Spectroscopy: New Frontiers in Small Molecules, Biomolecular Solids and Materials Science - joint with MT

Organizers:
Vlad Michaelis (vladimir.michaelis@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta 
Rod Wasylishen (roderick.wasylishen@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Invited Speakers:
Jochen Autschbach, University at Buffalo, USA
Andreas Brinkmann, National Research Council
Darren Brouwer, Redeemer University
David Bryce, University of Ottawa
Gaël De Paëpe, CEA/ Grenoble Alpes University, France
Mattias Edén, Stockholm University, Sweden
Paul Hazendonk, University of Lethbridge
Yining Huang, University of Western
Gillian Goward, McMaster University
Robert Griffin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Scott Kroeker, University of Manitoba
Vladimir Ladizhansky, University of Guelph
Robert Schurko, University of Windsor
Gang Wu, Queen’s University 
Josef Zwanziger, Dalhousie University - 2018 E.W.R. Steacie Award Winner
 

Teaching in Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry - joint with CE

Organizer:
Alex Brown (alex.brown@ualberta.ca), University of Alberta

Understanding and Conserving Ancient and Historical Materials: In Honour of Ron Cavell - joint with MT, IN

Organizers:
Thomas Ellis (thomas.ellis@usask.ca), University of Saskatchewan
Scott Rosendahl (scott.rosendahl@lightsource.ca), Canadian Light Source

Confirmed Invited Speakers
Marie-Claude Corbeil, Canadian Conservation Institute
TK Sham, Western University